yourlibrarian: MMMC Icon Yellow (OTH-MMMC Icon Yellow - yourlibrarian)
[personal profile] yourlibrarian posting in [community profile] marchmetamatterschallenge
March Meta Matters Challenge banner by thenewbuzzwuzz


Hello everyone! It's our last check-in before our wrap up post on April 1.

Comment below with any of the following:

1) What tags have you found yourself using the most often?

2) Did you write new meta based on the last post's prompt? Share it here!

Remember, if you post to AO3 or Squidgeworld, don't forget to use the Nonfiction tag to identify your posts, and add them to the March Meta Matters Challenge collection!
delphi: A carton of fresh blueberries. (blueberries)
[personal profile] delphi
Fandom 50 #6

Continuing my list of fifty Canadian songs I love from the past fifty years, 1982 is just a good old-fashioned banger.

Your Daddy Don't Know by Toronto

(no subject)

Mar. 28th, 2026 05:41 pm
shadowhive: (Geoff/Seapeekay !!!)
[personal profile] shadowhive
So the music post I was planning yesterday fell by the wayside, oops. I did start it I just… got sidetracked and couldn’t watch the things I planned for it (cause I wanted thoughts fresh in my head)

I love that everything I’ve seen about the 5 Seconds of summer show is super slutty, like Calum in a skirt, Luke on his knees, mic sharing, Ashton’s fit. Also I’m so amused, one of the pieces of merch has Calum’s name misspelled like how?

But anyway!

Today was Megacon so this post is gonna be able that. It was odd being up and active so early. I’m not usually a morning person but I was out for the 8:37 train. I spent the trip first reading sfx (going through the reviews), sitting with my eyes closed and ficcing a few paragraphs.

I forgot how far the nec is from the train and with stairs so it was a bit of walking. There was a 5SOS poster I noticed on the way which me squee, then I saw Professor Cox is doing a talk at the same venue in October which is wild.

Getting in was easy enough and I collected the cute pin I got with the ticket. I had early entry which was kinda a good idea cause for the first while it wasn’t too busy.

One of my first stops was mystery dice goblin, cause the only thing I was sure I’d get was some of their dice. They had a thing where you roll a d20 and if you got a Nat 20 you’d win something and I did! It was a mystery box (would’ve been £20) and had two sets of dice bags, a pretty raven/crow book park, a Dm cat pin and a journal. I also got a free d20 from a code they’d posted and it’s very pretty.

I found out the person I got foolish pins from had a stall so I found them and got a Fennekin pin(and another Pokémon one as a gift), I must’ve missed them having mareep (it was in the pics they posted but I must have missed it or someone had it) but ah well.

I did a thing at another dice store, where I got a bundle with a a student discount. So I had a mystery bag of random stuff (a lil eh), 5 gacha d20’s (including a purple one! They were all quite nice) and rolled a d20 which got me a soft resin set which looks nice, though I can’t work out what’s in them.

I also got another mystery dice set from another stall which was completely random dice but they look nice.

Over the course of the day I wandered round the stalls, mostly adorning the art cause damn. Artists really are so impressive. Like all of it was so pretty. I kinda wish I’d had more warning than a week that I was going cause I’d have been able to plan, cause there were stuff like stamp rally’s and such. (plus I could’ve maybe maybe had more money, as it was I was limited)

What I did get was some Stranger Things art (they had an offer on getting three) so I got Dustin/Steve’s hug, Dustin and Steve at the graduation (with ghost Eddie) and Robin, Eddie and Steve in Scoops outfits.

I saw the was a Pokémon card rally thing so went around and got some of them, Drifloon, Zigzagoon and Noivern (and extra ones the artists had too). I also got a Leon charm too cause it was pretty.

And there was someone doing props of things out of wood and I got a boomerang from Zelda which looks so cool and it wasn’t much either.

I saw a few of the panels. First there was a quiz, with people getting onstage answering questions. I do not have the social skills or knowledge for that. Then I saw an Expedition 33 panel and one of the guys there was a handsome Frenchman which was nice. I also saw a voice actress from FNAF and honestly, she sounds so cool. She can do stunts, collects medieval weapons and horse rides. Then there was one for Epic the musical which was fun too, even though I don’t know it much.

The two main panels I went for were the ones were Seapeekay. The first, had 5 creators onstage and was only half an hour. It felt like too short a time for so many people (the presenter even acknowledged that) but one of them was so cool. She played Elden ring using her mind! I’m not sure how she did it but it sounds impressive. And it was funny how, at the end when asked to share socials Seapeekay was like ‘it’s spelt phonetically Seapeekay, ocean urine okay’ which was so funny.

I didn’t get to see Seapeekay then (he zoomed away too fast) so I hoped to have more luck at the pokopia challenges he was gonna do and… well it was a bit of a disaster. It’s clear there wasn’t much thought as to what the challenges would be, nor was anything set up (a lead was missing). (Though ti was cute seeing Seapeekay dance) It made me think of the simpsons quote ‘it was a veritable orgasm of poor planning’. What was settled on was planning hide and seek/prop hunt for the remainder of the hour.

It was a bit of a disaster really but it was pretty funny. Funnier still cause it was an area Seapeekay hadn’t got to so he was completely lost too and couldn’t even figure out stairs. (Props to the other guy hiding as stairs perfectly)

I did manage to catch him before he left, but only briefly (I overheard him say something was left in the cloakroom at the other con that he went to yesterday😭) but I got to say hi and got a pic. I’m sure I look terrible, but at least I beat the anxiety to get it. I wish I’d had more time cause I carried the cards wound all day in case I saw him (despite being a listed creator he didn’t have, like, as set area or anything.

But by that point too I was flagging a bit anyway, tiredness caught up with me.

By the time I got to the station a train was there so I just got on it and now I’m one stop away from home.

I’ll take pics of stuff and post on insta later, then add links too.

But mostly I’m gonna flop, have some noms and something to drink, maybe finish off The Awakening special features and bundle up

Edit: Eyes too achy to watch stuff alas but! Pics! The mystery dice goblin box I won. Pics of the other stuff, including the dice from the packs

FAKE Double Drabble: Friends In Need

Mar. 28th, 2026 06:05 pm
badly_knitted: (Dee & Ryo black & white)
[personal profile] badly_knitted
 


Title: Friends In Need
Fandom: FAKE
Author: 
[personal profile] badly_knitted
Characters: Dee, Marty, Ted, Ryo.
Rating: PG
Setting: After the manga.
Summary: Two of Dee and Ryo’s colleagues are having a bit of a problem.
Written Using: The prompt ‘Gas’.
Disclaimer: I don’t own FAKE, or the characters. They belong to the wonderful Sanami Matoh.
A/N: Double drabble.
 


 

I am not artsy enough for this movie

Mar. 28th, 2026 01:43 pm
the_shoshanna: sad man saying "Is it just me or is sophistication sort of shit?" Woman answers, "Yeah but you get used to it and you cant go back." From an Oglaf comic: https://www.oglaf.com/N2/ (sophistication)
[personal profile] the_shoshanna
The other day Geoff and some friends and I went to see an Icelandic movie called The Love That Remains, and I have basically no idea what the hell it was.

I mean, moment by moment it was interesting, and engaging, and the kids were great? It's a couple with three kids, the couple are divorced but still pretty involved with each other (including occasional sex), he's out working on a fishing boat much of the time and she lives with the kids and her dad and is an artist. But, it starts with them divorced but still bound up with each other, and it ends with them divorced but still bound up in each other, and it seemed to me that at least a couple of years went by (judging by what we see of the changing seasons, although IMDb says it's one year) but the kids never age or go to school or indeed see any human being other than their family (except for a brief medical thing), and it's sort of magically weird (e.g., dad kills one of the family's roosters because it's supposedly become aggressive and is then -- in a dream, presumably? -- himself savaged by a giant rooster) and I have no idea whether the way it ends is real-world plausible, or another dream sequence, or just plain bananas.

the endingBecause of the injury to one of the kids that prompts the medical thing, dad is going to leave his fishing boat mid-fishing trip and come home. But instead of the boat either interrupting its work returning him to shore or rendezvousing directly with another boat that can bring him home, he's plopped into the ocean in a flotation suit and just drifts in the open sea, waves washing over the emergency light blinking on his chest, for at least a full day and night, waiting for the other boat to arrive and pick him up. And he's still drifting, occasionally screaming, as the movie ends. Is he screaming because the other boat hasn't shown up and he's going to die there? Is this a remotely plausible way for him to be transferred from one boat to another? I mean, I freely admit I know nothing about commercial herring fishery, but it seems awfully risky. Is it another dream sequence? I have no clue.


As we left, we were saying bemusedly to each other, "Did anything ever . . . happen? In that entire film?" and other people leaving the theatre laughed and echoed the question.

I mean, critics apparently like it, and I guess real life can be like that (except for the seven-foot rooster), but I think I'm not artsy enough for it. I want plot.

Doctor Who Drabble: Safe Enough

Mar. 28th, 2026 05:55 pm
badly_knitted: (Eleven & TARDIS)
[personal profile] badly_knitted
 


Title: Safe Enough
Author: 
[personal profile] badly_knitted
Characters: Martha Jones, Tenth Doctor.
Rating: G
Written For: Challenge 1012: ‘Volcanic’ at 
[community profile] dw100.
Spoilers: Nada.
Summary: Martha is not convinced this is a safe place to be.
Disclaimer: I don’t own Doctor Who, or the characters.
 


 

Double Drabble: Minor Accident

Mar. 28th, 2026 05:38 pm
badly_knitted: (Owen - Meh)
[personal profile] badly_knitted
 


Title: Minor Accident
Author: 
[personal profile] badly_knitted
Characters: Jack, Owen, Tosh, Dizzy.
Rating: PG
Written For: Challenge 910: Crash, at 
[community profile] torchwood100.
Spoilers: Nada.
Summary: It’s wise to watch where you’re going around the Hub.
Disclaimer: I don’t own Torchwood, or the characters.
A/N: Double drabble.
 


 

 

all I have is a voice

Mar. 28th, 2026 11:33 am
adrian_turtle: (Default)
[personal profile] adrian_turtle
It's been a rough couple of weeks. It feels like it really shouldn't be, because I've done so little, but I've done something almost every day. Half a day sorting the synagogue library, going to services, going to a memorial where I wasn't even a secondary mourner. Starting significant house cleaning. 3 medical things, one physically painful, one triggering, one really long and worrying. I had been feeling pretty good this winter, and I resent suspecting that it's probably just not doing anything. And, of course, there's what an old friend of mine calls the polycrisis. War and plague and environmental disaster and political collapse.

I had intended to go to the No Kings rally this afternoon. Then I fell apart Thursday afternoon, after the admirable Rikibeth came over and cleaned my kitchen before I started getting ready for Passover. And didn't really have the ability to do anything yesterday, not even make a sign for the rally, much less get organized for Passover, as planned.

Today...it's not like I'm out of spoons. I have some. I could go to the rally. It feels important. It just feels like a choice between doing that and having much of me left to make a nice seder, where we read straight out of the printed book or where I find good appropriate add-ons from HIAS, and poems about modern-day frogs and tyrants and the importance of working for freedom in every generation. It would be nice, but I'm afraid it would be kind of empty.

I have part of the Auden poem taped up by my desk, to inspire me to make calls.
"All I have is a voice
To undo the folded lie,
The romantic lie in the brain
Of the sensual man in the street
And the lie of Authority
Whose buildings grope the sky."

I have so little I can give. It's not like I can be out there blowing whistles, or driving around delivering food to people afraid to leave their homes, or singing outside ICE offices on Wednesdays. But I could do this if I pushed. We'll see how it goes.

Spring Drabbles

Mar. 28th, 2026 01:31 pm
kat_lair: (GEN -monet)
[personal profile] kat_lair
***

Life keeps on lifing and work keeps on being a sequence of problems to solve and issues to have opinions on. And I'm not getting the pay extra until next month (backdated) because bureaucracy slow. 

But spring is here. Even my friend in the northern Finland sent a video message of snow melting and swans returning. And in England the magnolias are almost past their prime (less spring, more climate change caused cos it's early af). And that means I want to write light, hopeful, delicate, pretty things. And small things, in the spirit of they are seeds from which some more substantive writing (eyes wip list) grows. 

And so, I've decided that April is for Spring Drabbles (=100 words). So, please help a gal out.

*Prompts welcome!

Theme:
Spring
Fandom:
Any: my AO3 for a list of almost 200 fandoms I've written in, but feel free also to suggest others, I just need to know the canon well enough to produce 100 words in it lol
Pairing/characters:
Any as long as I know them
Original:
Original fic/character prompts also welcome

*no 100% guarantee on drabble return but it is more likely than not given the low threshold I've set myself

***

The Friday Five on a Saturday

Mar. 28th, 2026 11:47 am
nanila: me (Default)
[personal profile] nanila
  1. What is a common ear worm that you get?

    My children rickroll me pretty regularly, so That Song gets stuck in my head.

  2. How long do they last?

    Not very long. My brain is usually too preoccupied with other sources of worry and stress to spend long on an earworm.

  3. What do you do to get rid of them?

    I don't know if this will sound contradictory, but on the rare occasions when an earworm sticks, I find that playing the actual song gets rid of it.

  4. What is the worst ear worm you've ever had?

    There's this Robyn song that I dislike intensely, and it popped in and out of my head for a week. I don't like the song so was very reluctant to employ my usual remedy.

  5. Do you get some guilty pleasure in passing the ear worm along?

    Not unless it's reciprocally rickrolling my children.

Results on the lump

Mar. 28th, 2026 08:48 am
galadhir: Lt. Gillette restrains Commodore Norrington from jumping off a cliff into the sea. Text says 'Don't jump, wait until they push you.' Both a comment on later movies and a life lesson. (Don't jump (wait until they push you))
[personal profile] galadhir

After much fretting about whether I'd get to the hospital in time, I arrived at precisely the time of my appointment. Then over the course of about two hours had a mammogram, doctor's exam and ultrasound, and they decided that it was a sebaceous cyst - and was perfectly harmless unless it got infected. As it was already getting smaller, this didn't seem likely.

However, it seems that I was not as un-worried about the whole thing as I thought I was. Even before I got home, the deep, lancing fibro pains had started up, and by the time I got home it was the full works: jabbing pains everywhere, back locked up, feeling sick, dizziness, fatigue etc.

I can only assume that this was my body dealing with suddenly not being stressed any more. As a stress reaction, I do not like it.

DH is off at the Halesworth day of dance. Son has borrowed one of our cars because his new car is in the garage, so I do not have a car available. I had planned to cycle into town, do some weight lifting, toddle around the shops, maybe have lunch in a nice little place as a treat, but while I am fatigued, dizzy and in pain I don't know that that's going to be possible.

Basically everything is terrible. I'm going to the garden to eat worms. But I don't have cancer, so that's something :)

Fire & Water - Stargate SG-1 icons

Mar. 28th, 2026 06:44 pm
magnavox_23: Jack and Daniel are huddled together in a ditch, weapons drawn, ready to fight. The caption reads "With you". (Stargate_Jack/Daniel_with_you)
[personal profile] magnavox_23 posting in [community profile] fandom_icons
28 Stargate SG-1 icons from 1x13 Fire & Water

  

Check out the rest here. <3 

Goreswap Pinch Hits - Due April 12

Mar. 28th, 2026 02:53 am
slashmarks: (Leo)
[personal profile] slashmarks posting in [community profile] pinchhits
[community profile] goreswap is a multifandom exchange for fic and art, featuring gore. Assignments must be at least 500 words or a sketch on unlined paper, and contain significant gore content.

Rules | AO3 Collection

Current Pinch Hit Post

For details or to claim, see the pinch hit post above. These assignments are due April 12 at 11:59 PM EDT.

Pinch Hit #3: Art, Fic - 镇魂 | Guardian (TV 2018), 镇魂 | Guardian - priest

Pinch Hit #5: Fic - Night Prince - Jeaniene Frost, グノーシア | Gnosia (Visual Novel), Dracula Rising (Cartoon)

Pinch Hit #9: Fic - Anne Rice's Talamasca: The Secret Order (TV 2025), Interview with the Vampire (TV 2022), Loki (TV 2021), The Night Manager (TV 2016), D.Gray-man (Anime & Manga), Merlin (TV)

Pinch Hit #11: Art, Fic - Bugonia (2025), Alien (Original Movies 1979-1997), Disco Elysium (Video Game), True Detective (TV 2014), 魔道祖师 - 墨香铜臭 | Modao Zushi - Moxiang Tongxiu & Related Fandoms
dialecticdreamer: My work (Default)
[personal profile] dialecticdreamer
Morning Mishap
By Dialecticdreamer/Sarah Williams
Part 1 of 1, complete
Word count (story only): 1106
[Morning of Sunday, 5 November of 2017]



:: On Sunday, Jules is running errands. He stops for brunch at Jaliya’s Kitchen, and runs into a problem that he could never have anticipated. Part of the “Lodestar” arc, set in the Polychrome Heroics universe. ::




Dull gray clouds hung perilously low over Jules’ head as he stepped off the bus at the stop nearest Jaliya’s Eatery. He preferred her original name for it, Jaliya’s Kitchen, but the quonset hut had the new phrase painted on it by the time it was assembled, even before the furniture and appliances were installed. Jules was trying to adapt, but it was slow going.

Midmorning on a Sunday was fairly quiet, with only around fifty people in the dining space, and perhaps a dozen staff. Jaliya spotted him as she brought out a tray full of cabbage rolls, then beckoned him over. Jules loped close to the serving line, then jogged to stand near the staff exit. “Is Blainn making deliveries for you? He was up and gone before Dad was even up. I’m a little worried that he’s overdoing it.”
Read more... )

The Light of Ithil, by Silvertrails

Mar. 27th, 2026 08:12 pm
silver_trails: (Daeron)
[personal profile] silver_trails posting in [community profile] tolkienshortfanworks
Author: Silvertrails
Title: The Light of Ithil
Text type / Format: Fixed format
Source / Fandom: The Silmarillion, Avengers
Rating: PG-13
Word Count: 300
Summary: Daeron remembers the past while spending some time with Maglor and Bucky near the sea. This story is part of one of my crossover arcs. I am posting it for the March Challenge.

https://archiveofourown.org/works/81979626

Running time

Mar. 27th, 2026 03:46 pm
mildred_of_midgard: (uhura)
[personal profile] mildred_of_midgard
Another thing I could hardly believe is that I maintained my 10-minute mile! I mean, omitting the time I had to take out after the first loop to go to the bathroom (this is apparently when my intestines wake up), which would count in a real event, but as far as fitness goes...I'm not counting it in training. I would count it if it allowed me to rest my muscles properly, or if I was stopping in order to rest, but mostly it just breaks up my rhythm and makes me have to run a first loop twice, which probably slows me down. (First loop is in many ways the hardest.)

I know I was slowing down toward the end, but one of the main things that kept me going was that I had a pep talk that went, "Even if it's slow, it still counts toward your distance. Running this last mile is better than walking it. See, you just passed someone. Even if you come in over a 10-minute mile average, you can bring the time down on another run. Even if it's slow, you'll still have to cover the rest of the loop to get home *somehow* and might as well run instead of walking, it feels better. Even it's slow, it still counts."

Imagine my shock when I pulled out my phone at the end of the run and had 13 seconds to spare. And if you add in the time it took me to remember that I needed to check my phone ASAP, and the time it took to spin my runner's belt around (I run with my phone behind me) and dig it out of the rolled up pocket (my runner's belt is too large for just a thin shirt and shorts; usually I have something a bit thicker on), my time was probably between 2:09:30 and 2:09:40.

My goal is to have my half marathon speed under 2 hours, because I'd like to have a marathon under 4 hours, and I'd like to have an 11-minute mile for actual difficult terrain with hills and roots and whatnot. But this is a good start for training! I only got back into running 6 weeks ago yesterday, and I only did about 1 mile (also flat). And now I can run 13!

Half marathon

Mar. 27th, 2026 03:30 pm
mildred_of_midgard: (Default)
[personal profile] mildred_of_midgard
I can hardly believe it, but I ran 13 miles this morning, which is the distance of a half marathon. I learned some things from last time:

* Run on a workday. It's far easier to keep running if the pep talk is "The alternative is you go inside and continue devising a test plan for your company's thumbnail-generating service" and not "The alternative is you go inside and work on the Peter Keith biography and the Old Irish teaching materials."

* Don't worry about distance, and try not to think about the running process at all, until you start to feel physically tired. For the first half of the run, I wasn't an athlete, just an academic out for a morning run. I knew I could do 4-5 loops (5-6.5 miles) without trying, and I spent the time thinking about Peter Keith, Old Irish, work, and whatever other interesting things came to mind.

Only once I started to feel physically tired did I switch into feeling like an athlete. And even then I didn't set particular goals strongly. I had 13 in the back of my mind, but I had lower numbers, too. I even told myself it was fine if I didn't equal last time's distance (although I would be very confused about why if not).

Toward the end, I started setting half-loop goals, and of course doing my usual thing of finding goalposts as often as possible: finish this loop, finish this mile, finish half a loop, etc. It's easier to hit a goal every 5 minutes than every 15 minutes. It really helped that the 9th loop was 11.75 miles, I decided to go on to 12, and then I realized it was just one! more! mile! to a half marathon.

What ultimately helped the most was that ever since I was in junior high, I've wanted to be able to push myself on distance running. I've wanted to be tired and pushing through it. And while I've certainly made myself run when I didn't feel like it, I've never had this particular sensation before, except a little bit last time.

So I kept telling myself that I had been looking forward to this sensation for 30 years, that I finally had the opportunity, and that I wanted to enjoy it as long as possible. I realized that I have absolutely been quitting too soon and that I've regretted it on my last few runs, and that if I just leaned into enjoying this sensation, I would have the experience and not the regrets.

I mean, the alternative was to work on a test plan for our thumbnail-generation service!

Of course, it definitely helped that 13 miles is half a marathon. I don't know if I would have had this motivation for the number 13 otherwise; I would have stopped at 12 or maybe 12.25.

The biggest problem is my left hamstring. It was *really* unhappy after my last run and for two days afterwards, and it was *really* unhappy after this run. I actually went and lay down for about 15 minutes after this run, learning from last time that a bit of lying down goes a long way. I showered and tried sitting down at the computer on the sofa bed, but my hamstring didn't like it, so I figured instead of tightening my glutes some more, I would lie down flat for a bit. And that did seem to help a little, but I'm not sure if I should be running beyond 13 miles until I solve this. In fact, one of my pep talks today was that this might be my last long run for a while, and if so, I should make the most of it.

I'll keep an eye on it and see. It had mostly recovered the last 2 days (by which I mean back to normal levels of pain), which is why I went for it again. Cross your fingers it does the same thing again!

ETA: Oh, and my knees were 100%, not a twinge in sight. No stiffness, no discomfort, not even when I switched to walking for my cooldown. They were as strong as they've ever been, I couldn't even tell which one has been the injured one for a year. \o/ I've been very diligently sleeping with my legs extended, sometimes even at the cost of sleep, and it's paying off.

Profile

rabidsamfan: samwise gamgee, I must see it through (Default)rabidsamfan

February 2026

S M T W T F S
1234 567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 02:31 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios